Author Topic: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1  (Read 2971 times)

Offline Assaf

  • Sysop
  • Posts a lot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1957
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • scannow.org
FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« on: January 20, 2018, 09:16:11 PM »
Hi everyone,
I don't have time to package it in the installer but here is the latest version. It supports the new system types (DMR and one other one). Totally untested as I do not own scanners compatible with these system types, so I'd appreciate feedback.




Offline Ronski

  • Scanning Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2018, 02:13:21 PM »
I was nearly going to switch programs, thanks for doing this.

On windows 10, windows defender still does not like it all. Had to make an exclusion.

Here's the rr thread for it see if they find anything to fix.
https://forums.radioreference.com/scanner-programming-software/364768-freescan-beta-2-19-a.html

Offline kevbb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2018, 06:31:55 PM »
It works. I uploaded several TRBO systems from my 996P2  to it and I'm playing around with it.  Norton and windows did not like the Beta but I prevailed   ;D. Thank You !

Offline lucky43113

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2018, 07:21:36 AM »
i cant get this to work i get an error I am running windows 10

 See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'NAudio, Version=1.6.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
File name: 'NAudio, Version=1.6.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null'
   at FreeSCAN.frmCtlSetup.Timer_Renamed_Tick(Object eventSender, EventArgs eventArgs)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.TimerNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)

WRN: Assembly binding logging is turned OFF.
To enable assembly bind failure logging, set the registry value [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Fusion!EnableLog] (DWORD) to 1.
Note: There is some performance penalty associated with assembly bind failure logging.
To turn this feature off, remove the registry value [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Fusion!EnableLog].



************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.7.2600.0 built by: NET471REL1LAST
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
FreeSCAN
    Assembly Version: 0.8.3.0
    Win32 Version: 0.8.3.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/lucky/Desktop/FreeSCAN.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 14.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.7.2600.0 built by: NET471REL1LAST
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.7.2612.0 built by: NET471REL1LAST_B
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic.Compatibility
    Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 14.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic.Compatibility/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.Compatibility.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Speech
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Speech/v4.0_4.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/System.Speech.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.



Offline FF2Sherman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2018, 07:54:58 AM »
Lucky
I had this same issue all i did to resolve it was replace the Freescan.exe for this release and it worked
Basically rename the original Freescan.exe to something different and copy this exe to that folder and it should work, or at least it did for me

Offline lucky43113

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2018, 08:19:33 AM »
Lucky
I had this same issue all i did to resolve it was replace the Freescan.exe for this release and it worked
Basically rename the original Freescan.exe to something different and copy this exe to that folder and it should work, or at least it did for me

Thanks that worked

Offline Assaf

  • Sysop
  • Posts a lot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1957
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • scannow.org
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2018, 07:01:36 PM »
It works. I uploaded several TRBO systems from my 996P2  to it and I'm playing around with it.  Norton and windows did not like the Beta but I prevailed   ;D . Thank You !


Glad to hear that it uploads properly. Are you able to download those systems from RadioReference? I don't think theres much I can do to make Norton happy. Doesn't set off any warnings on my system.


Offline ka1air

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2018, 07:45:35 PM »
Downloaded from 996P2 into freescan and colour codes change from:
example; CC1 now became 1001
I can understand that.
But now I erased everything from the scanner and uploaded from Freescan to 996P2
In the nac field where the colour codes and related numbers were they were now:
FFFF in that field for all DMR entries.

KA1AIR

Offline markb513

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2018, 05:12:01 PM »
With the latest version, is it possible to enter colour codes for a MotoTRBO UHF LTR system? Where?

Thanks,

Mark

Offline Ronski

  • Scanning Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2018, 04:39:07 PM »
Yes several fixes for you, but most are pretty simple.  :P  Most are to address areas that need some TLC since new models came along, the P2’s, 125AT. The 396T’s are very rare to be found anymore I feel safe to assume users ‘for the most’ part no longer use or have them. Theres only as I write two on EBay.
===================

Since the XT's have been discontinued a few years ago, remove from the type list, the text "(Digital XT)" leaving it to say "P25 Standard Digital"

===================

In the programming ‘Site Setup’ area at the 'P25 Wait Time' remove the (Digital XT Only) more radios can do it.

===================

Occurs in both conventional and trunked systems-
Programming area for GPS you have for analog 'GPS (15/996T)' I would just say 'GPS'.
For digital in the talkgroup area, you have GPS (XT Scanners Only) just leave it as GPS.
Since then P2 radios have come on scene that can do it.

===================

Occurs in both conventional and trunked systems-
Remove in the Enable analog - Digital AGC, Change 'XT options' to just 'Options' again more radios than XT can do that.

===================

In 'setup scanner options' since more radios can do these-

General Tab
Under ‘Backlight Mode (Handheld Only)’ - remove the text 'XT Only’
Then at 'XT Specific’ maybe just say ‘Options' or ’XT, P2 Options’
At ‘Backlight Colour’ add in the 996P2 – Colour to colour?
At ‘LCD’ for ‘Mode 3’ remove the ‘XT’

Close call tab
Under’ Digital XT Only:’ Change to maybe AGC Options?
Remove the 'XT Scanner Only' and maybe change it to 'Display alert options' or so?
At Close call bands, the disclaimer, you can add about the bc125AT as well.

Service Search tab
At the ‘Choose which Service Search To Set:’ Remove ‘TV’ since no radios can listen to HDTV Audio
Change the 'XT Options' to 'Options'

Advanced tab
Have to redo the two write ups for AGC, P25 Wait time to include the newer models since writing those.  Safe to assume those were done prior to XT's let alone the current P2's

===================

Ok now to stay on the subject for Mototrbo – DMR
Importing from RR and using the freescan trunked interface, any DMR systems show up as [Unknown]

===================

I second about no place to put colour codes and also need to be able to put in Slot numbers for talkgroups.


Think you are doing a good job at this so far without having a unit to demo on.  :)
« Last Edit: January 29, 2018, 04:22:57 PM by Ronski »

Offline MAG905

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2018, 04:26:49 PM »
 FF2Sherman

I had this same issue all i did to resolve it was replace the Freescan.exe for this release and it worked
Basically rename the original Freescan.exe to something different and copy this exe to that folder and it should work, or at least it did for me.

Where did you copy the new exe file from?


MAG905

Offline waltmapb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2018, 06:23:28 PM »
It is at the top post of this thread but you must be logged in as a member to see it. :)

Offline RichM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2018, 04:24:37 PM »
The 396T’s are very rare to be found anymore I feel safe to assume users ‘for the most’ part no longer use or have them. Theres only as I write two on EBay.
===================

I have eight 396T's in use currently.
They NEVER go away!
I run eleven private scanner feeds and two on Broadcastify.   
Two of the private feeds are full remote controlled using RemoteFS from my Android)
Many of them use a 396T.

I bought every one I saw at 'reasonable prices' from eBay.   ;)

Rich

Offline comms.mc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2018, 09:08:02 AM »
Downloaded from 996P2 into freescan and colour codes change from:
example; CC1 now became 1001
I can understand that.
But now I erased everything from the scanner and uploaded from Freescan to 996P2
In the nac field where the colour codes and related numbers were they were now:
FFFF in that field for all DMR entries.

KA1AIR

Many thanks for the DMR additions! Further to the above info, in conventional system programming when you upload from a DMR enabled scanner to FreeScan the DMR Colour Codes show up in the "NAC" field in the format 100x.

Downloading from radio, DMR Colour Codes (CC) will present as "NAC" values of 100x:
CC 0   > SRCH
CC 1 > 1001
CC 2 > 1002
CC 3 > 1003
CC 4 > 1004
CC 5 > 1005
CC 6 > 1006
CC 7 > 1007
CC 8 > 1008
CC 9 > 1009
CC 10 > 100A
CC 11 > 100B
CC 12 > 100C
CC 13 > 100D
CC 14 > 100E
CC 15 > 100F

FreeScan will read and save these values, however if the value is modified or is written to the radio they become FFF. Also note that conventional systems set with the NAC field as 'SRCH' in FreeScan will search for both DMR CC and P25 NAC.

Offline comms.mc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeSCAN 2.19 Beta1
« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2018, 04:19:07 AM »
I haven't looked into this in great detail with different operating systems etc but there is a possible bug in 2.19 beta1 when programming. The bug appears to occur on different radios (996, 325, 396) and basically doesn't skip the unselected systems but rather just reprograms the last selected system. Otherwise v2.19 is working well, including for DMR.